What makes you hot?


I haven’t signed on to my dear blog for approximately three days.  While I’ve been gone I was hoping to open my dashboard today and see all sorts of views and comments.  Wow was I ever disappointed.  I work constantly (which most of us do) and I just had my sisters wedding today (which I only found out about three days ago) so when I come to my solace I was hoping for some comfort.  Nothing.  This brings me to my next question.  What makes you hot?  What keeps the most popular blogger’s on top?  Is it truly entertaining content, intelligent content, or constant content?

“…What Makes you hot?”

image by: Cayusa

I realize as I type this that there are several sides to this argument.  I then sit and wonder, Why I’m complaining.  I’m simply writing to help my grammar and writing ability.  Ernest Hemingway says you must write everyday if you wish to really be a writer.  Whereas my ideas for my stories might not always be strong I can always go on this blog of mine and write whatever is on my mind.

I also realize that I am still relatively new to this website.  New to blogging.  And new to the world as well.  Sometimes false vanity begins to kick in.  You almost think that you are king blogger when all of the sudden with a quick report of the last three days you realize that you are only you.  There is no existential fan base out there secretly hiding between the lines of every blog, snooping behind every sign post, or reading my every update.

I also realize that there are people out there with a much greater talent than I that have the same issues.  The difference is that they don’t have to go back to their material and look it over and over and over again.  They might do so just for the pure indulgence of their creativity and intelligence.  They have great talent and it is only a matter of time before they get discovered and get put on some great big publishers list of best sellers.  In my case this crazy red squiggly line constantly shows up under my words (including my first attempt at the word squiggly).

But there really is a question that I wish to receive some sort of response on.  I want to know from some of the best blogger’s out there, What makes you hot?  By all means give me a full dissertation while you’re at it.

Thank you

Caleb A. Mertz

Posted on July 18, 2010, in feedback, thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Interesting question, but I can’t help you out there. Sorry. I’ve been blogging for a few months now, and at first, it was really slow, but gradually, a few more visited. Now, I have a few subscribers and several regular visitors–friends.

    I read somewhere that you can increase your traffic by leaving comments on other blogs that you find interesting. Good luck!

  2. I am new to this site, but I found yours and even though i am at the office i find it difficult NOT to read what you have written, and immediately I decided that you are WORTH me subscribing to your blog. Let me state again for the record that I am new and NOT on the hot list yet! lol…Honestly I don’t know if anyone has read what I have written or even cares too…and I am still figuring this out – BUT DUDE, YOU ARE AMAZING! *IM A FAN*

Leave a Reply

