Pitching the Big Idea


Yesterday while I spent the day off I had some serious issues with writing. I wanted to get writing as soon as I had gotten my day started. Waking up was trouble enough. I knew that as soon as I stepped out from the bedroom there would be a severe heat that would cause me pain.

In my office I have some postcards that I have made up of all of my projects. The one that is front and center is “The Unexpected Teaser” So I’m looking over this and the dreadful reality sets in. Some moron decided to put December 010 as the release date. Having had been through the publication process with my publishers I know that it takes upwards of six months from the moment they sign you, and December  is less than six months away.

The bigger thing is that this one I am aiming for the stars. With it’s relevance to modern day happenings and the over all excitement that it draws, I feel that it would be a great find for any reader. But then how do I pitch this un-solicited work to a mainstream publisher and turn this puppy into a solicited work?

I’m not sure how to answer that. I do however have one draft of a pitching letter that is drawn and getting revised constantly. Depending on the mood I’m in I can either be so optimistic about this project, or I can be downright awful to myself and my hopes.  I look to About.com to help me out in this time of need.  It’s through Ginny’s plethora of information about publishing that I can finally attempt to make things happen.  I’d love to be able to post my pitch letter here, but I can’t.  As I said before it’s only in its infancy stage.

There’s one more thing.  I am looking up the publishers that might publish something of my genre and or story idea.  I am currently on page 112 of what I’d like to be a 250-300 page novel.  Time is of the essence in getting this work done and published as closely to December as I possibly can.  It’s a deadline that I have set for myself, which may help in the actual completion of this project.

If you have any ideas or comments on what I am going through definitely take the time to comment.

Caleb A. Mertz

Posted on July 22, 2010, in feedback, thoughts, writing ideas and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’m assuming by your previous posts that you are writing fiction, correct? Well mate, I have some information to share with you.
    First off, very few publishers will accept unsolicited work. Penguin Group is, but only until October (which reminds me I still have a query letter to finish editing… bugger). A better idea might be to look into getting an agent, first, but the whole process is a bit tricky.
    Furthermore, you shouldn’t send out a query letter for an unfinished work of fiction. I don’t mean ‘final copies only!’ I mean, have at least your first draft done, beginning to end, and prepare yourself for a long process of editing.
    The last bit of disheartening information I’ll leave you with is this: assuming you find an agent or publisher willing to sell your novel, it might be a full 2-3 YEARS before it ever ends up on the shelves.
    You can, however, self-publish as an e-book. This has its own pros and cons, so I suggest you do some serious research on that. Preferably after you believe you have a completed and possibly publishable copy of your novel.

    Oh, and don’t forget to backup your work! I suggest DropBox for this, but there are many other options. I just don’t know of any quite as simple and convenient, but I’m sure there are some!

    Sorry if I just made this sound like Mission: Impossible. I do wish you the best in your endeavor. Good luck, and never stop writing!
    ~IshanaTM

Leave a Reply

