Time? for Work, play, relationship, and work again.


photo by: Kirstea from flickr.com

Time is everything.  Time is money.  Time is something that you can never get back.  These are things that I realize on a daily basis.  Having just been assigned some additional duties (which take up an additional 11 hours a week!) there is little time for me to go to the gym let alone write.  With the third novel being the biggest production of them all; including an agent, a big time publisher and a project manager position, I can’t seem to find time to write.

One of my recent entries regarding insomnia truly hasn’t stopped.  I still stay up late (check out the time of this blog) and I still have to get up early so I can be to work at a respectable time.  Factor in a relationship, one that I would quit everything for, and you have yourself some very time consuming days.  I had been joking around with some people that inquire into my life that my two days off I’m working, now this joke has not been such a laughing matter.  I feel like it has begun to drive me insane yet I continue to pursue further opportunities to improve my grammar and story writing skills.

Just yesterday I inquired to two writing gigs for magazines.  I hope that this will widen my scope and or credibility when trying to get an agent or write for other agencies.  Then I wonder if I were to quit my job tomorrow if I would be able to support myself through writing.  According to Allena Tapia from About.com she makes about 40k a year.  I guess if I were that developed I might not be so bad off.

The past three novels that I have written I have found that while I am writing my social life takes a plummet.   Only the three of my closes friends are really still there for me when I come out of the wilderness back to society.  Here is the official catch.  I am trying to make as much money as I can so that I can finally open up the restaurants that I have been dreaming of for years (who doesn’t have a goal similar to this?).  The good thing about writing a novel is that you can see an end in sight.  You know that there is going to be a lull in time where the publishing is at a slow pace while the publisher reads over the work, or the editing is taking place, the target market is reading the book and providing feedback.  This is the time that you cash in on.  You see all  of your friends and you see the love of your life, your mom, your dog, your favorite cat, maybe you get to that leaky faucet that has been driving you crazy.  I then have to pose the question, When is there an end in sight when you are writing as a living?  What if you’re writing for that extra income?

Ultimately there is too much to get into here and I won’t.  Allena Tapiafrom About.com has some great advice about juggling writing gigs and formal work so I do recommend that you visit her site, but at the same time.

Is there anyone else that feels similar to how I feel right now?  If so, PLEASE fill me in on some of your coping techniques because I want to get so much better at all of this.

Thank you,

Caleb A. Mertz

Posted on August 8, 2010, in Rants, thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

