Bad Query, Good Query


By this time I am almost terrified to post anything more on my queries.  It, at times, feels like my babies ripping my hair out for me.  I am sure that my facebook friends are tired of me asking them to check out the latest query.  Even though I realize this I am still re-writing the damned query!

One night I sat down and rewrote my letter and thought ‘This is great! It tells the story and kind of tells what the books about‘ — Well the very next day I woke up and reread the query being nothing but excited.  I was overwhelmed with a horrible and sickening emotion.  Heck, now it just read as if it were a faith novel about the end times!  I am not querying christian faith agents, but mainstream fiction/ thriller types.  So I write again.

I come up with another one that seems cool.  AH! I can’t write a friggin query letter that “Seems cool”!  I re-write again.  I feel content with the opening paragraph and focus on the second.  After re-reading it about thirty times and making small grammatical corrections, I am dissatisfied with the first paragraph.  Those first few words are what determine if the agent will continue to read.  Ultimately I realize that this process takes some serious time, but boy is it ever fun.  It creates the possibility to exercise all of my creative writing skills along with practicing my grammar.  This isn’t such a bad thing.

Anyway, only when I have a query letter that wows me as the author will I post it.  I will keep everyone posted till then, but just wanted to rant here for a bit.

Thank you,

Caleb A. Mertz

Posted on September 18, 2010, in Queries, Rants and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Good luck, and keep trying! Query letters are hard work, but you’ll get there. Actually, I should work on my own…

  2. You’ll get it, Caleb. the last one you wrote did not get my curiosity. when I read the back of a book to see what it is about it has to get my curiosity to want to read it. It has to keep me in question to find out who? what? where? when? why? so to speak. now i’m ranting lol. but anyway, your doing great! just relax, go with the flow. dont stress yourself, that never works. you will get it. Hugs!!!

Leave a Reply

