Getting Closer!


Good News!

I have been struggling with my latest book for what feels like a bit more than a year now. I currently have three days to get something together, and still accomplish tons for work. Day one of it all, I think I may have put together a query that works, and designed a cover to help me visualize the completion of the project. The cover I made up is shown (though I’m sure it won’t really look like this) along with the query letter. So please take a look, read it over, and let me know what you think!

Dear Nick Mullendore,

Thousands gathered at the White House to hear Andrew Rakford’s inaugural address. At the closing statements, the first explosions of the Great Christian Revolt mutilated hoards of people. With bodies strewn across the lawn Rakford has seconds to determine a course of action, however, something horrendous had already begun, God’s plan.

President Rakford forced into a war he would never end, quickly learns his path of peace isn’t as easily attainable as once thought. In attempts to eliminate the threat presented he finds it necessary for national security to raid a church group because they were moving heavy weaponry. The pastor of the church was named most wanted because camera’s showed him throwing a grenade into a crowd. He must also list suspects based on religious practice as current intelligence validates Christians behind each event. Every situation is causing him to stand against his morality, yet increases his popularity internationally.

His mother, in his meditation, reassures him God has a plan. Meditation was the only way to see her since her death. Once his meditations begin to deteriorate, the lady in white shows him into this new role of world leader. Though he couldn’t clearly see where God came into everything, there was no better way to fool everyone than to fool the man himself. Now with two plans in play, only the strongest can prevail to reveal the best president ever or something of the worst imagination, The Unexpected.

 

THE UNEXPECTED is a 70,000 word novel. An end of times thriller, tuning into the fears of 2012 yet promising a world past this. I have had entries published on About.com, Examiner.com, and Suite101.com. Reviews of other work can be found at jclarkmedia.com, bookpleasures.com, and pulseweekly.com. Publications such as Lehigh Valley Style Magazine, The Morning Call, and Carlisle’s “The Sentinel” also reviewed some of my work.

Partial or full manuscript is available upon request. Thank you for your time.

Caleb A. Mertz

 

 

Posted on March 24, 2011, in feedback, Queries and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hello Caleb,

    It’s good to see you’re still working hard at this. I highly suggest you read Query Shark. There is a lot of input I could give you on this query letter, but I think you’d be better off learning it on your own. Don’t be surprised if it takes you several years to publish a novel — it’s rare if it takes less than that to publish one’s first novel.

    Good luck!
    ~Ishana

    • Ishana! I actually sent this to her! I have read her blog, and followed example after example. I hope that it hits something with her, or someone. I have queried 10 different agents with this one letter. So I hope your reserved feedback wasn’t awful, or else I messed up horribly!

Leave a Reply

